15 Foods to try at Epcot’s Flower and Garden Festival (and 5 you can skip)

Let’s be honest here. Our favorite part about any of the festivals at Epcot is the food. I might even say the food is the main reason I go….

We are lucky enough to get to go to the Flower and Garden Festival this year(we will actually be there twice!), so we knew we had to try as much as we could to find our favorites. And, of course, for research. Obviously.

We were pleasantly surprised by how many things we absolutely loved! These are in no particular order(sorry I suffer from severe indecisiveness)…..but here are 15 foods to try at the Flower and Garden Festival this year…. and 5 you can skip!

Foods we loved

1.Green Tea Berry Mint Julep from The Berry BasketFlower and Garden Festival

I really love Green Tea. In fact, besides water, its usually all I drink. Its refreshing, light and the fact that its supposed to be good for you is extra incentive. So we just had to try this frozen concoction. With fresh blueberries and mint leaves, this drink is as pretty as it tastes. I shared this with G so we got the non-alcoholic version. But there is an alcoholic version as well if you want to add an extra kick.

2. Warm Chocolate Cake with Bourbon Salted Carmel Sauce and Spiced Pecans from The SmokehouseFlower and Garden Festival

Basically words can’t describe my love for this cake. Quite possibly one of the best chocolate cakes I’ve ever had, it was one of our favorite desserts at the entire festival. Covered with caramel and pecans, this is phenomenal and that’s really the only reason you need to try it!

3. Crabless Cake from Urban Farm EatsFlower and Garden Festival

I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical about this one. Made out of Tofu, I only tried this because I saw a glowing recommendation on Instagram.  I don’t really eat Tofu and I’ve never really found a dish that does it well. Until I tried this from Urban Farm Eats. The combination of the Vegetable Slaw, Lemon Vinaigrette and Old Bay Remoulade really brings the whole dish up a notch. G and I both loved this and are really glad we gave this a try. Thank you Instagram friends!

4.Warm Wild Berry Buckle from The Berry BasketFlower and Garden Festival

Ok guys, this is something you must get! I know the picture is not that beautiful but that is because the cake is so warm that its melting the gelato. Such good flavor combinations, with the cake being a little tart and the gelato sweet. And the little oatmeal crumbly adds a delicious little crunch. Perfection.

5.Frozen Desert Violet Lemonade from Pineapple PromenadeFlower and Garden Festival

Ok I know its probably cliché, but there’s a reason everyone loves this drink. Its slightly sweet, slight tart and come on look at how pretty it is! If you’ve ever wanted to try eating violets, now is your chance.

6. Beijing-Style Candied Strawberries from Lotus HouseFlower and Garden Festival

These are really too pretty to eat, but we obviously didn’t come to the Flower and Garden Festival to look at pretty food. This is such a simple dessert and is basically strawberries in a light candy coating with sesame seeds sprinkled on top. Full of flavor, these are a great little sweet treat when its super hot at Epcot.

7. Nanaimo Bar Trifle at Northern BloomFlower and Garden Festival

Seriously how cute is this thing? If you can’t tell, we have a huge thing for desserts and this was one of our favorites. Not too sweet, creamy and chocolate layered trifle in an adorable little glass….perfection.

8. Meatball Parmigiana from Primavera KitchenFlower and Garden Festival

We are Italian, so we love Italian food. It also means we are a little more critical of Italian food. But these tiny meatballs were a hit. We loved them and found them to be perfectly seasoned with just the right blend of marinara and parmigiana.

9. Potato Pancake with Carmelized Ham, Onions and Herb Sour Cream from Bauernmarkt:Farmer’s MarketFlower and Garden Festival

I didn’t really think I would love this and we actually tried both this one and the one with applesauce. While the one with applesauce really disappointed us, this potato pancake was perfect. The flavors of the potato, ham, onion and sour cream were perfectly combined and really surprised us and came to be one of our favorites from the Flower and Garden Festival.

10. Jamaican Braised Beef from La Isla FrescaFlower and Garden Festival

You know beef has been cooked to perfection when it is plastic fork tender. This beef was perfectly seasoned and perfectly cooked. Served on top of Pigeon Pea Rice. I’m not 100% sure what that is, but it was delicious.

11.Freshly Baked Lemon Scone from Cider HouseFlower and Garden Festival

I kind of have a “meh” type of relationships with scones. I really like the idea of them, but sometimes they are just too dry and lack the flavor I require in a dessert. That was not the case with this gem from Cider House in the United Kingdom. The cast member who took our order actually told us this was her favorite dessert at the whole festival. While it wasn’t our favorite, it was definitely very good, not too dry and bursting with lemon and berry flavors. Yummmm.

12.Chile Relleno de Picadillo from Jardin de FiestasFlower and Garden Festival

I love Mexican food. Like I could eat it every day type of love. So you can be sure that I tasted every food available at Jardin de Fiestas in Mexico. This was my favorite of the bunch and I probably could’ve eaten like 5 more after we finished this one. The pepper was cooked perfectly and the queso fresco was the perfect garnish.

13.Carne Asada from Florida FreshFlower and Garden Festival

This little dish was actually selling out at times while we were here as the kitchen couldn’t keep up with the orders for it! Served with a black bean cake, we really loved the flavor combinations of this one and apparently so did everyone else.

14.Watermelon Cucumber Slushy from Florida FreshFlower and Garden Festival

Another favorite slushy from the Flower and Garden Festival, the watermelon slushy is perfectly refreshing and light for hot days. And its pink, so that’s really all we needed to know.

15.Beef Brisket Burnt Ends Hash from The SmokehouseFlower and Garden Festival

Add fondue to anything and it instantly becomes more appealing. Well, it does to me at least. I realize the words “burnt” don’t usually mean somethings tastes good, but trust me on this one. It is.

Bonus: Dole Whip from Pineapple Promenade

Available in both the traditional and also served with Rum, I don’t need to say anything else. Just get one. Or five. This is a judgement free zone.

Ok so what didn’t we like?!?

It pains me to say this because I wish I loved everything at Walt Disney World. I wish everything I had tried at the Flower and Garden Festival was extraordinary and I didn’t have to make this list.

I am sad to say, however that some of the things we tried were just not good. So sad. But true.

1. Key Lime Tart from Florida FreshFlower and Garden Festival

Oh how I so wanted to like this. Look at how pretty it is! I even made myself try a few extra bites hoping my first impression was wrong. Unfortunately though, I just didn’t like it. I have made Key Lime Pie before for my sister-in-law. I have hand squeezed the juice out of those tiny limes and the end result was delicious. This, though, wasn’t. The balance of sweet and sour was just way off and it was really just too sour to taste anything else. And that chocolate butterfly? A disgrace to chocolate. Needless to say, I wasn’t a fan of that either.

2. Potato Pancake with House-made Applesauce from Bauernmarkt: Farmer’s MarketFlower and Garden Festival

Remember that Ham Potato Pancake? That was great. This one though, really wasn’t. I don’t know if the flavors just didn’t mesh well together or what it was, but it just tasted a little….off. I really didn’t like it and neither did the lady at the table next to us.

3.Macaron Chocolat Framboise from Fleur de LysFlower and Garden Festival

Guys, I love macarons. I love them plain, in the form of an ice cream sandwich, for breakfast. Doesn’t matter, I love them. The macaron part of this was great! Perfectly baked. But the chocolate “fudge” tasted like a stale tootsie roll.  Mix that in with raspberries and I was not impressed. Trust me, I tried to like this one too.

4. Frozen Simply Tropical Juice Drink from La Isla Fresca

I should’ve seen this one coming, yet somehow I didn’t. This is one of those frozen drinks that, after 3 or 4 sips, all of the juice is gone and you’re left with unflavored slushy ice. It was 90 degrees out while we were here so I just finished eating the ice with a spoon. But it was still just plain ice.

5. Strawberry Tiramisu from Primavera KitchenFlower and Garden Festival

Again, I come from an Italian family, so my standards for Italian food are a bit high. Regardless, even if that wasn’t the case, this dessert just tasted fake. I thought the idea of it sounded yummy, but the end result was just a disappointment.

So there you have it, what we loved and what we didn’t! Have you been to the Flower and Garden Festival this year? What food or drinks did you love? And what were we way off base on?? We’d love to hear your comments below!

 

 

 

 

 

15 Foods to try at Epcot’s Flower and Garden Festival (and 5 you can skip) was originally published on Polka Dots & Pixie Dust

Leave a Reply

